Three Wheelchair Customers Introduced as 2023 Winners of Neilsen Basis’s $1 Million Visionary Prize

Three profile photos, a Black woman wearing a fuscha top, a white male using a manual wheelchair and a Black man using a power wheelchair.
Carmen Daniels Jones, Victor Calise and Vincent Pierce (left to proper)

On Sept. 19, the opens in a brand new windowCraig H. Neilsen Basis revealed the 2023 winners of its annual Visionary Prize, given to people who’re working to make the world a greater place for individuals dwelling with spinal twine accidents. This 12 months’s awards go to Vincent Pierce, Carmen Daniels Jones and Victor Calise — who will every obtain an unrestricted $1 million prize.

Vincent Pierce was named one in every of New Mobility’s opens in a brand new window2021 Individuals of the Yr for his work combating for the lives of disabled nursing residence residents in the course of the COVID pandemic. He’s the director of the opens in a brand new windowOpen Doorways basis, a poet and music producer that runs music packages for underserved youth and the founding father of #NursingHomeLivesMatter, which seeks to enhance circumstances for individuals of colour in long-term care.

Carmen Daniels Jones is a board member of United Spinal Affiliation who runs a advertising consulting agency that develops data-driven methods for organizations to market to, serve and make use of individuals with disabilities. She presently serves on the U.S. Entry Board, which coordinates efforts to enhance accessibility and inclusion within the federal authorities’s packages, companies and rules.

Victor Calise, a longtime incapacity advocate, is presently the director of Walmart’s just lately established Accessibility Middle of Excellence. Earlier than his time at Walmart, Calise spent over 20 years in public service opens in a brand new windowcombating for higher accessibility in New York Metropolis, culminating in his 2012 to 2022 tenure as Commissioner of the New York Metropolis Mayor’s Workplace for Individuals with Disabilities.

“The Neilsen Basis is honored to award Victor, Carmen, and Vincent the 2023 Visionary Prize,” mentioned Kym Eisner, government director of the Neilsen Basis. “These three leaders exemplify the values of the Neilsen Basis and the dedication to altering the world for the higher — as our founder did. We’re proud to help them as they proceed to make an enduring mark of their efforts to complement the lives of individuals dwelling with SCI.”

Since 2020, the Neilsen Basis has awarded the Visionary Prize to 12 individuals throughout the U.S. and Canada. Up to now, 4 of the recipients — opens in a brand new windowReveca Torres, opens in a brand new windowAndrea Dalzell, opens in a brand new windowYannick Benjamin and Vincent Pierce — have additionally been NM Individuals of the Yr. Study extra about this 12 months’s winners on the opens in a brand new windowNeilsen Basis’s web site.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay in Touch

To follow the best weight loss journeys, success stories and inspirational interviews with the industry's top coaches and specialists. Start changing your life today!


Related Articles